Widmouth Farm Cottages

Devon - Ilfracombe

​​​​​​​AA 4**** Rating


Since taking over Widmouth Farm Cottages in July 2015 we have had some wonderful reviews...Thank you!


May 2016 - Neta - AirBnB

"The location is outstanding with breathing views. The private beach is beautiful & the children (& adults!) enjoyed the animals feeling. Woodpecker lodge was perfect for us as we needed easy access to the property & a close car parking. The house was very clean & tidy & we didn't miss a thing. Beds are comfortable so are the duvets & pillows. We felt very welcome and loved the fresh free range eggs! We'll definitely come back again if we visit this area in the future. Thank you for a lovely stay!"


April 2016 - Justyna - AirBnB

We found Robin cottage cosy, well equipped and perfect for our stay in Devon. It was lovely to be greeted with fresh cream tea upon our arrival. Emma made sure that we settled in and had everything we needed. She explained to us the layout of the local area ( beaches, pubs and walks). We then took a scenic cliff walk from the farm's private beach to Hele Bay where we enjoyed a great dinner at Hele Billys restaurant. Widmouth Farm cottages are in the perfect location for visiting best surfing beaches, Tarka trail and walking on Exmoor. We thoroughly recommended it as a great getaway and peaceful place in a very picturesque surroundings. Loved it- thank you x


March 2016 - Dylan - AirBnB ​

Had a brilliant long weekend at Kestrel Cottage. Emma and her family made us feel v welcome, and our 20 month old was thrilled to be able to feed goats, llamas and collect chicken eggs each morning. The cottage itself was cosy and clean, providing an excellent base to explore the nearby beaches and attractions. A perfect holidaying place.


March 2016 - Keren - AirBnB

The cottage was really clean and cosy and it was so nice to be welcomed by fresh scones and Devonshire clotted cream. The hosts were nice and friendly and were on hand had we needed anything. The farm is so beautiful and we loved walking around and seeing all the animals, the private beach and the great view! The location was fantastic. We would 100% stay again if we venture back that way, as we had a wonderful stay!


February 2016 - Nola - AirBnB

We spent a lovely few days at Swallow Cottage. The farm is in a sheltered spot with amazing views - it is really idyllic. It was wonderful to arrive to a full cream tea, and our cottage had been redecorated to a high standard. Emma was so welcoming, and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. My girls loved feeding all the animals each morning and it was such a treat to have fresh farm eggs for breakfast! I really recommend the cottage and will definitely be back! Thank you Emma x​

28th August 2015 - Winston and Rochelle 

"We had a lovely weekend even if the weather was pretty rubbish. Thank you for making us welcome, good luck in this new business adventure, you already have in nailed in only 3 weeks...xx"


1st September 2015 - Rachel and Glyn

"We had had a great stay. I found that the cottage is situated in the middle of any activity you are looking to do. Warm welcome, peace and quiet, will be back!"


28th September 2015 - Jenny and Graham 

"Well what a wonderful hidden surprise Widmouth Farm is! We came for our anniversary as we always like to do something special for it. This weekend has not let us down. From the animal feeding to the private beach and surroundings. I've loved every minute. Thank you Diane, Emma and Steve. You are a lovely family! I will NEVER forget our 2am excursion for the Lunar Eclipse :) AMAZING WEEKEND."


5th October 2015 - Neil and Denise

"Thanks to Diane, Stephen and Emma for making us so welcome. Thanks for the Birthday present. Good luck for your future in you new venture. Best Wishes."


28th December 2015 - John and Eloise

"We had had a wonderful time, even if the weather has been mixed. Thank you for looking after us so well. We wish you every success for the future."



- Trip Advisor -



“Perfect location, immaculate accommodation and lovely owners!”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 10 May 2016

We loved every minute of our short weekend break at Widmouth Farm. When we arrived the key was in the door of our cottage ready for us, we arrived to a warm and immaculate cottage, absolutely spotless. It was well decorated and very homely. We stayed over valentines weekend and were greeted with Red roses, chocolates and bubbly to go alongside the scones and cream tea that were already laid out in our dining area for us, it was a very lovely touch. We had everything we needed without having to ask for anything, from maps to wifi access etc it was in the info pack left for us. 
Going on a walk to feed the animals with the owners Diane and Emma was a lot of fun, our favourite was the duck that thinks he is a chicken! Emma, Diane and Steve are a very friendly and welcoming family and we are very much looking forward to going back with our little ones as soon as we can!


***I would urge anyone to ignore any of the negative reviews left for the previous owners, having read them myself its seems the new owners have transformed Widmouth Farm and we couldn't recommend it highly enough.***


“Fantastic location and stay ”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed June 2016

Thanks to Emma and family for a wonderful weekend stay in Woodpecker Lodge. We came for my mums 70th and on arrival were greeted with a lovely cake and afternoon tea which was really special and thoughtful. 
The Lodge was very well equipped, modern and comfy, looking out to the orchard. The view when you get to the top of the hill of the bay is magical and we had a lovely walk when the tide was out over to Watermouth harbour and back. 
USP's are def the private beach and animal feeding - alpacas, pigs, goats, chickens, ducks and rabbits each morning (ex Sunday). 


“Lovely Relaxed Stay”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Wow these cottages are some of the best secret stays in Devon. 
From arrival your stay is relaxing, quite location plus the bonus of your own private beach and wow some of the best views around. 
Diane, Stephen and Emma are who make this stay special, they are friendly they love people joining them to feed their animals and have a vast knowledge of the area. Some of the best fishing can be had off the Costal Paths, just ask Stephen where to fish. 
Metal Detector enthusiasts their must be some serious history near and on these paths so this place makes it a great stay. 
Will definitely be back for me thanks X


“Perfect!!!”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful family break! We stayed in the kingfisher cottage, which was beautiful! Immaculate and very welcoming! My partner and children loved the scones that are baked by the owner! Beautiful views and surrounding area. My children enjoyed being taken around to feed the animals in the mornings. Cannot express how much we all loved staying here, and we will definitely be returning again! Thank you so much for such a brilliant weekend!


“A little bit of heaven!!”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic weekend down at the farm, we cycled , walked, checked out places to bring the children next time we visit, there are so many! 
Had two fab nights out in local pubs, one had a brilliant live band! 
Accommodation was to a high standard and beautifully clean, felt very homely with fresh scones when we arrived! 
Can highly recommend! Thank you Steve, Diane and Emma,
We will be back!


“RECOMMENDED +++”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 19 March 2016

Lovely, family run cottages, Diane, Steve & Emma made us feel so welcome. Cream tea in cottage on arrival, a lovely welcome treat. Quiet, clean, comfortable, we wanted for nothing. We stayed in' Wren' which was very adequate for the two of us. Everything you could want for a restful stay. Really enjoyed feeding the animals. Can't wait to come back in the Summer when we can explore more. Hope to bring the rest of the family + dogs.


“Wonderful half-term break”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 24 February 2016

Just returned from February half term break at Widmouth Farm. Our cottage was newly renovated and of a very high standard. Our children loved feeding the animals - particularly the goats and alpacas and we all enjoyed the private beach - even body boarding in February! Highly recommend as great location to explore North Devon. We will definitely be back!

“Fab week away with the kids”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 5 September 2015

The location is idyllic with its own beach the kids spent hours in the rock pools ( as did daddy:) The feeding of the animals in the morning was a sure fire hit with our two girls and the location of the farm is perfect to explore devon We will definitely be back


“Stunning, peaceful, unique”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 28 October 2015

Beautiful location, stunning private beach with great rock pools for the children to find crabs and other creatures in, friendly owners who go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect, play area for children, clean accommodation, animal feeding great fun for the children, lots to do in the immediate area- Widmouth castle, dinosaur land, Woolacoombe, shopping in Barnstaple, great coastal path runs, good eating out pubs in Hele and Coombe Martin- would go again and highly recomend to anyone who wants a peaceful, retreat with or with children. Thanks for a lovely stay and some great memories for the children


“Ideal sightseeing location , great hosts and fun for kids and dogs”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 23 August 2015

Located minutes from Combe Martin, ten minutes from Ilfracombe and just 40 minutes from the town of Barnstaple, Widmouth Farm is a great location for a family holiday, and they accept dogs. The farm has a number of cottages which accommodate up to 8 persons. 6 days a week there is the kids favourite 'animal feeding' and a short walk down through the fields to the farm's own cove, a real sun trap. There are surrounding cliff walks with stunning views and for the ken fisherman or lady at least one on site location to catch your supper. We had two great weeks in different cottages and the new owners are making some very positive changes to improve the holiday experience. I have already booked for next year.


“Perfect in every way!”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 1 September 2015

Another great holiday at Widmouth! The new owners are lovely! We stayed in Kestral, it was perfect for what we needed. Our kids (8 & 4) loved feeding the animals each morning and the private beach is awesome. We will definitely be back!!